Nasi Gandul Pak Memed

Standard

After I took a long vacation of writing, now I’m back. I’m off for a while because my health condition not allows me to write objectively. Yeah, something wrong with my digestive system. Thanks God, I recover slowly and hopefully you can enjoy my ‘comeback’ writing as usually ;)

I will continue to share about Semarang culinary. This time I will recount about Nasi Gandul. Well, actually Nasi Gandul is originally from Pati (small town at Central Java). But it became famous at Semarang too, especially Pak Memed’s stall. Located on the edge of the road, this stall always crowded with queue of people.

Ns Gandul1

I have to wait for about 10 minutes before I got my seat. I came here at 8 p.m.

Ns Gandul2

Nasi Gandul is rice with beef meat, intestines, lung, spleen & tripe soup. Sometimes they add the boiled egg that marinated first with shallots, guava leave, bay leave & galangal. We call it as ‘Telur Pindang’. The soup is made from coconut milk, bay leave, galangal, lemongrass, shallots, garlic, kencur, kluwek, cumin & coriander. Very complicated isnt’t it? Most of Javanese food need many kind of spices, but it taste so good and you can’t find it at another place.

Ns Gandul3

The soup taste sweet and savory. It blended well with slices of tender beef meat. And if you dare you can try to eat the intestines and friends, haha….Some people assume it as a ‘gross thing’, but trust me, it’s heavenly good :p

The word “Gandul” itself means floating, because that dish is placed on banana leaves; so it looks like it’s floating at your plate. That banana leaves produces a fragrant aroma when you pour the coconut milk soup on it. They also provide crispy tempeh to accompany the dish. I like it very much! You have to try it! The price is very cheap, for about 10 – 15 K per portion.

Nasi Gandul Pak Memed

Nasi Gandul Pak Memed

 

Jl. Dr. Cipto 12 A

Semarang

Phone: (024) 3559928 / 0813-325743117

 

Leave a Reply

