Nasi Kalong

Standard

Nasi Kalong, in English you can called it : “Bat Rice”. Why Bat? Because they adapt Batman habit that always sneak out in the night when the moon start to show its face, haha…Yes, they open the stall everyday start on 07.00 PM until 02.00 AM. But other resource said that they called “Bat Rice” because the color of rice is black.

I arrived on this place at 07.20 PM, but there’s no sign that they’ve opened their stall yet. So I sat, waiting in the darkness of night, lightened by a candle, under the big umbrella that attached with the table. For about 15 minutes later, suddenly a fancy huge car, Alphard, entrance the courtyard of the area and some waitresses rushing brought out the iron food containers from the car.

In a couple minutes, there’s a long lining of queue. Because this is my first coming,  I get confused for a few seconds, then I immediately ran and joined the queue.

Queue

A long table with many dishes on it and of course a large pot of the famous “Bat Rice”. Well, the color of the rice is not solid black actually, but it’s blackish violet. I think they steamed the rice with ‘kluwek’ (the ingredient that brings the black color to the dish, it’s used also on Rawon dish, a Javanese traditional food). With quick scanning, I can mention the dishes that served tonight are: Gulai Ayam, Balado Telor, Fried Lumpia, Spicy Beef, Oncom Leunca, Assorted Veggies, etc. I count for about 15-20 dishes variation that I can choose that night.

Dishes

I choose Oncom Leunca. This is the traditional ingredient that used in almost all of Sundanese restaurants. Oncom is a type of fermented food similar to Tempeh. Oncom can be fried, made pepes or stir fried with vegetables such as Ulukutek Leunca (Solanum Nigrum) or Green Stink Bean. It’s tasty.

I also took Ayam Santan Cabai Hijau (Green Chili Chicken w/ Coconut Milk). They put it in the small containers. They cut the chicken into dice form. I barely able to feel the spiciness of the chili. They cooked the chicken with coconut milk until it became dry and soaked in the chicken meat. Quite nice and the meat is tender.

Otak Otak dengan Rawit (Fish Cake with Cayenne Chili inside). They deep fried the fish cake, but unfortunately, they served it cold. So the texture is became tough to chew. Frankly speaking, it’s not good….hufffttt….It will be better if they served it fresh from the oven!

Finally this is the most wanted dishes at Nasi Kalong: Ayam Madu (Honey Chicken) and Buncis Bakar (Grilled String Bean). The chicken is marinated with garlic & honey. I can taste the sweetness all over the meat. They cover the chicken with wheat flour and deep fried it until it became so crispy. I like it. Very delish! The string bean is only stir fried with garlic and soy sauce on the high heat. The string bean taste so crunchy when you bite it. Well, it’s taste so so.

Nasi Kalong

The price of one portion of Nasi Kalong I ate that night is 43 K. It’s quite expensive. Can we still classifying this dish as one of the Bandung street food?

Nasi Kalong

 

Jl. Riau No. 57

Citarum – Bandung

Phone: 0811-205855

 

2 responses »

  1. I just want to say I’m newbie to blogging and truly enjoyed this website. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You absolutely have remarkable stories. Appreciate it for sharing with us your website.

  2. I like the valuable information you supply in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and have my youngsters check up right here often. I’m quite sure they will study plenty of new stuff here than anyone else!

Leave a Reply

