Warung Nasi Bu Eha

Standard

For my trip this time, I want to explore Bandung’s traditional & nostalgic culinary and of course its famous street food. Based on my friend’s recommendation, Jeffry, who lives in Bandung & also a culinary lover, finally I will try some new places. Very excited!

Warung Nasi Bu Eha is one of the most legendary street food at Bandung. Located in the traditional market Cihapit (Pasar Cihapit), I have to parked my car on the side of road and take a walk through an alley to reach that place. It’s not difficult to find it, because everybody in Bandung knew that famous place very well. If you get lost, all you have to do is only: ASK!

Warung Bu Eha

Although this place is located inside the traditional market, the tavern itself is looked so clean & dry. An old woman, was around 70 years old, seen checking the quality of the dish & become a cashier in here. Apparently, she is the famous Mak Eha (in English: an informal term for an elderly woman). She’s got help from her children to run this place.

Warung Mak Eha2

I intentionally come in the morning, because if I come late, the dishes usually will be out of stock, and maybe they will close the stall early. Many variation dishes neatly organized on the long table. But as I’ve read on the internet, Perkedel Kentang (potato fritter) is a must order item in here.

On the 1st plate, I choose Nasi Merah, Pepes Ayam, Bakwan Udang & Perkedel Kentang (red rice, chicken pepes, shrimp & potato fritters). Well, I wanna explain a little further about pepes. Pepes is an Indonesian cooking method using banana leaf as food wrappings. The banana leaf containing food (such as fish, chicken, mushroom, tofu, etc), cooked on steam or grilled on charcoal. This technique allowed the rich spices mixture to be compressed against the main ingredients inside the banana leaf and also add distinct aroma of cooked or burned banana leaf.

The Chicken Pepes of Mak Eha is so aromatic & the seasoning is soaked all over the meat. Delish! The Shrimp fritter is deep fried until it’s become crispy. I enchanted with her Potato Fritters. With crispy skin outside and soft blended of potato & corned beef inside, it brought the scrumptious sensation on my mouth. So yummy!

Nasi Merah

They also give us a plate of Lalapan Daun Singkong & Daun Ceciwis (boiled cassava & ceciwis leaves) with bottom up Sambal. The perfect combination of Indonesian food, I really like it.

Lalapan

On the 2nd plate: Nasi Putih, Urap, Pepes Tahu & Pepes Usus Ayam (white rice, urap, tofu & chicken intestines pepes). Urap is a salad dish of steamed vegetables mixed with seasoned and spiced grated coconut for dressing. It’s quite good. The taste of pepes is also savory & nom nom.

Nasi Putih

Total price for all dishes I ate, with additional 3 pieces Potato Fritters,only 38 K. Very cheap!

Warung Nasi Bu Eha

 

Pasar Cihapit

Jl. Cihapit – Bandung

Phone: 022-4261453 / 70401688

4 responses »

  1. I simply want to mention I am new to blogging and absolutely enjoyed this website. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You really come with excellent articles and reviews. Thank you for revealing your webpage.

  2. I believed it was going to be some boring old submit, nevertheless it actually compensated for my time. I’ll submit a link to this web page on my blog. I am positive my visitors will find that very useful

Leave a Reply

