Mongkok

Standard

Mongkok is the place where you can find any goods or food with cheap price. Its traditional markets, small shops and food stalls has become their characteristic.

Mongkok 1

Mongkok 2

There’s a few streets in Mongkok that have interesting names, such as:

–         Sai Yeung Choi Street South

A street full of shops selling consumer electronic products, cosmetics, and discount book

–         Temple Street (Men’s Street)

The area famous for the Hongkong specific goods.

–         Yuen Po Street Bird Garden

Packed with booths selling birds. The garden is open from 10 am to 6 pm.

–         Fa Yuen Street (Sneakers Street)

There’s many small retailers which sell sports equipment and clothing.

–         Flower Market Road

This street selling flower & houseplant.

–         Goldfish Street

There are dozens of shops & hawkers selling various tropical freshwater or marine fish.

–         Tile Street

More than 50 retailers selling materials for construction or renovation.

–         Photocopy Street

Having remarkable number of photocopying shops due to the number of schools in the vicinity.

–         Kwong Wa Street

It’s famous for shops selling airsoft, RC racing, modeling & other hobby’s equipment.

–         Dundas Street

This is the shopping area in eastern Mongkok. Ho King Shopping Centre, Ka Lok Shopping Arcade & Trendy Zone are major shopping centres on the street.

–         Ladies’ Street

This market specializes in women’s clothing, accessories, cosmetics and also food stalls selling noodles, seafood, and congee for mid afternoon or late night snacks.

Mongkok is the heaven of streetfood. All food seemed taste delicious, I feel like I wanna try it all. Just look what I’ve posted below. Drooling huh? Haha…..

Street Food Mongkok 1

Street Food Mongkok 2

I bought Assorted Fried Food such as eggplant, tofu, veggies fritters, etc. For 5 pieces I pay HKD 12 or 15 K.

Fried Food

I also choose Bean Curd w/ Spicy Peanut Sauce. Price only HKD 12 or 15 K for one portion. Very tasty! I like it!

Bean Curd

I tried Mussels w/ Spicy Taucho Sauce. Price HKD 15 or 20 K. Scrumptious! Must try if you’re a seafood lover!

Spicy Mussels

Many spots in Mongkok that you can find street musicians. From a young age to elderly, and also they sing various music genre. Very festive atmosphere!

Street Musicians

After getting around in this place, I became so thirsty. So I tried the famous Gong Cha. I order their Ice Toffee Bubble Milk Tea. Price HKD 17 or 22 K. Well, I think it’s too milky for me. I’d rather choose the fruity flavor.

Ice Toffee Bubble Milk Tea

You can’t separate Chinese people from dish made from pig, haha…. We really love it. I must try their pig/pork dishes in this market. Usually they cooked & marinated it in herbal soup. They took almost all part of pig, from intestines, tripe, lung, ear, tongue, etc. Disgusting but so ‘freakin’ delicious at the same time ;p For one portion of Pig’s Soup I pay HKD 25 or 32 K.

Pig Stall

Pig Intestines

3 responses »

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am just beginner to blogs and really liked you’re page. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You surely come with remarkable stories. Bless you for revealing your web page.

  2. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

