Fook Yew

Standard

Their unique old fashioned Chinese pop style canteen design has attracted me to come and dine in this place. They use many varieties of furniture, very colorful and boldly mixed with one another. I love the way they hang the red bird cages on ceiling and put cart in front of the restaurant. Fook Yew is a fun casual Chinese eatery inspired by the tasty delicacies from the streets of Shanghai.

Fook Yew

The bar design is showing the 12 Chinese Zodiac (remember Jacky Chan’s new movie :p). Likewise their alcoholic bubble tea menu. Very cute!

BarAlcohol Bubble Tea Menu

The Bubble Tea menu is also interesting, they named after chinese movies title. They also use the other fun classic Chinese cliches such as Kung Fu School, Chinese Pop Art, and many more.

Bubble Tea Menu

Because I came alone, so I didn’t try their main course. This time I only try their appetizer and dim sum. For appetizer, I choose Crispy Salted Egg Golden Corn. Price 35 K. They mix it with fried glutinous rice, very good idea & the taste is incredible good. Crispy and buttery, hmmm…yummy! I really like it. It came in quite a big portion, enough for 2-3 person.

Crispy Salted Egg Golden Corn

They specialized in Bubble Tea too. So I tried Tai Chi Master Bubble Tea. Price 35 K. They made from orange chunk, melon chunk with apple & lime juice and they add tapioca balls. Sour sweet in taste and very refreshing. I really love it. Maybe other time, I will try their alcoholic bubble tea. They mixed their bubble tea or milk tea with brandy, vodka, rum, etc. Quite expensive for beverage, price 69 K, but I think they set the price commensurately with the quality.

Tai Chi Master Bubble Tea

For dim sum, I choose my favorite : Chicken Feet in Black Pepper Sauce. Price 19 K. Quite delicious & they give me one portion of HUGE chicken feet, haha….

Chicken Feet in Black Pepper Sauce

Suitable with their colorful design interior ambience, my eyes has strucked with this dim sum picture in their menu : Six Senses Xiao Long Bao.  Price 48 K. Six different color of xiao long bao with 6 different taste. Really enjoyable. Their taste is almost similar one another. What I remember, they give me one spicy xiao long bao. I think they also use the pork meat, because it’s so savory. They put different kind of aspic in each xiao long bao (a dish in which ingredients are set into a gelatin made from a meat stock or consomme). Quite scrumptious!

Six Senses Xiao Long Bao

Fook Yew

Gandaria City, Main Street GF

Jakarta Selatan

Phone: 021 29007897

3 responses »

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am newbie to weblog and absolutely savored your web page. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your blog . You actually have outstanding articles and reviews. Regards for sharing with us your web-site.

Leave a Reply

